Awtood Musci Festival - Monticello, MS
  Main Page  |   Tickets  |   Schedule  |  Maps Artists Photo Gallery  |  Sponsors  |  History Contact Us  

The Atwood Music Festival started in 1975 as the Atwood Bluegrass Festival. It began as a joint effort of the Pearl River Basin Development District and the Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce. These two groups wanted to attract more interest in the Atwood Water Park shortly after the Basin completed work there, so they decided to have a bluegrass festival. The first festival was held June 20 and 21, 1975 and featured the music of Lester Flatt and the Nashville Grass, and Doc Watson a bluegrass singer and guitar player. The first festival featured a fishing rodeo, turkey calling contest, tennis tournament, bluegrass contest and canoe race. Since then, it has grown and in 1984 the name was changed to Atwood Music Festival due to the different genres of music being featured. During the early years the headliners would perform two shows, one in the afternoon and one at night. As the festival grew and demands from headlining artists changed, the shows changed to just one performance by each headliner. The Atwood Music Festival is the longest running music festival of its kind in the state of Mississippi.




Artists Featured Each Year:

1975 - Lester Flatt and the Nashville Grass
Doc Watson

1976 - Grandpa Jones
Jim Jesse and the Virginia Boys

1977 - Minnie Pearl
Paul Ott

1978 - Dave and Sugar
Kurt Kilpatrick

1979 - The Hagar Twins
Jimmy Martin

1980 - Stella Parton
The Carter Family

1981 - Dave and Sugar
Rattlesnake Annie McGowan

1982 - Helen Cornelius
Razzy Bailey
Paul Ott

1983 - David Frizell and Shelly West
Jimmy C. Newman
Elmer Fudpucker

1984 - Charly McClain
Vern Gosdin
Lorrie Morgan
Linda Nail
Kent Westberry

1985 - Justin Tubb and the Texas Troubadors
Jacky Ward
Helen Cornelius
Kathy Twitty

1986 - Dan Seals
Robin Killen

1987 - Tom T. Hall
Mark Gray

1988 - Jim Ed Brown
Shelley Mangrum

1989 - Billy Crash Craddock
Mike Snider
Vicki Bird

1990 - Baillie and the Boys
Irlene Mandrell
Jimmy C. Newman and Cajun Country

1991 - Connie Smith
Scott McQuaig

1992 - Gene Watson

1993 - Ronnie McDowell
Mac McAnally

1994 - Jimmy C. Newman
John Conlee
Pearl River

1995 - Terry McBride and the Ride
James Dixon
Dave and Sugar

1996 - Paul Overstreet
Lee Roy Parnell

1997 - Ronnie McDowell
Confederate Railroad

1998 - Wade Hayes
Doug Supernaw

1999 - Suzy Bogguss
Aaron Tippin

2000 - Ricky Van Shelton
Cletus T. Judd
Tracy Byrd

2001 - Tracy Lawrence
The Bellamy Brothers
The Kinleys

2002 - Highway 101
Trace Adkins
John Anderson

2003 - Neal McCoy
Doug Stone

2004 - Sammy Kershaw
Jeff Bates
Honky Tonk Tailgate Tour
Chad Brock, Rhett Akins, David Kersh,
and Daryle Singletary

2005 - Joe Diffie
Pam Tillis
Andy Griggs

2006 - Marty Stuart
Little Texas
Billy Dean

2007 - Emerson Drive
Keith Anderson
Shane Prather

2008 - Charlie Daniels

2009 - Jamey Johnson
LoCash Cowboys
Honky Tonk Tailgate Tour
(Mark Wills, Trent Willmon, Jeff Bates)

The Lost Trailers

2010- LoCash Cowboys
Colt Ford,
Chris Young

2011 -Easton Corbin
Jake Owen

2012- Brett Eldredge,
Craig Campbell
Randy Houser

2013- Frank Foster
LoCash Cowboys
Earl Thomas Conley
Chris Cagle

2014- Chris Jansen and Craig Morgan

2015- Chase Bryant and Travis Tritt

2016 - Jeff Bates
Brothers Osborne
The Bellamy Brothers

2017 - William Michael Morgan
Little Texas
Drake White and the Big Fire



Main Page  |   Tickets  |   Schedule  |  Maps Artists | Photo Gallery  |  Sponsors  |  History  |  Contact Us   
Copyright 2018 by Atwood Music Festival